相关信息

项目简介:

在1926年的北伐战争中,国民党的军队兵马未动,宣传先行。从广东沿路北上,国民党的宣传队伍撒下大量的传单。紧随其后,国民革命军一路攻城略地,顺利地占领了北京。远在汉口的中国基督圣教书会(Religious Tract Society)秘书长见国民党取得政权,不无羡慕地说,“他们学会了我们的(宣传)策略,还比我们用得更好。” 这位在华宣教机构的负责人由此断言,国民党是靠宣传而得以成为中国新的统治者的。于是他自问道,基督教不也可以靠宣传在这里建立上帝的国吗?

从1927年到1949年,有数百万张基督教海报在中国流传。这些色彩鲜艳的海报通俗易懂,内容丰富,意义深远。这些基督教宣传品意在推翻当时在中国流行的其它意识形态。从一些海报的设计看,其目的显然是用以代替中国人家里的祖先牌位和灶王爷画像。另外一些海报则直接针对国民党和共产党的宣传,想为中国人指出另外一条通向民族解放的道路。

在1949年, 共产主义在中国取得了胜利并扫除了其所有对手。学术界迄今已对共产党的海报进行了广泛的研究,但共产主义的宣传只代表胜利者的叙事, 未免片面。因此,波士顿大学全球基督教与宣教研究中心(The Center for Global Christianity and Mission, Boston University)对基督教海报进行研究,以重新发掘被忽略和被遗忘的基督教在华宣传史。从这些海报中, 我们可以看到,当时的基督教曾经与中国的传统信仰,共产主义国民党的三民主义相互融通,相互较量,并试图将它们取而代之。

波士顿大学全球基督教与宣教研究中心已经收集了四百多张基督教海报,并将它们数字化保存在中心的网站上。这些海报为我们提供了一个观察中国社会的独特窗口。透过这个窗口,我们得以了解二十世纪上半叶后二十五年中国复杂的政治经济和宗教状况。欢迎大家对这些历史图片进行检索和解读,也欢迎大家挑选使用,用它们布置自己的展览。

我们收集的基督教海报分别来自下面一些机构的慷慨捐助,在此一并表示感谢。

安东弗·牛顿神学院(Andover Newton Theological Seminary)

安卓斯大学(Andrews University)

哥伦比亚大学(Columbia University)

哈佛大学 (Harvard University)

香港浸会大学(Hong Kong Baptist University)

救世军国际遗产中心 (The Salvation Army’s International Heritage Centre)

旧金山神学院 (San Francisco Theological Seminary)

史密斯学院(Smith College)

伦敦大学 (The University of London)

明尼苏达大学(The University of Minnesota)

惠顿学院(Wheaton College)

通圣会 (The World Gospel Mission)

耶鲁大学神学院(Yale Divinity School)

团队

以下人员对本网站做出了贡献:

Dana L. Robert博士是杜鲁门·柯林斯全球基督教义及宣教史教授,和全球基督教与宣教研究中心的主任。她的研究方向包括基督教宣教史,全球基督教义及宣教神学。她是《教会历史》期刊的编辑,2016-2017年年度亨利·鲁斯三世神学研究员,以及德国美因茨的莱布尼茨欧洲历史研究所的高级研究员。同时,她也是美国文理科学院的成员,于2017年获得了美国宣教协会的终身成就奖。


艾德恩(Daryl R. Ireland)博士是全球基督教与宣教研究中心的副主任,以及“基督徒海报”的项目经理。 他专攻基督教的历史和其在亚洲的传教。 他对宋尚节(一名在旅途中宣教并重建了许多人精神生活的中国复兴主义者)的研究,促使他更加广泛地执笔于诸如振兴运动,妇女在复兴主义中的角色,以及中国及东南亚地区的改宗等话题。


Alex Mayfield是“基督教海报”网站的创建者。他是波士顿大学神学院的博士生,专攻全球基督教义及宣教史。他的研究方向包括全球五旬节和灵恩派运动,普世教会主义,亚洲宣教史,及现代中国基督教的发展。除此之外,Alex还参与了多项意在消除神学学术界及广大公众差距的数字项目。


叶文喜博士毕业于美国费城信义宗神学院,主修宣教神学。她于波士顿大学神学院基督教与全球宣教使命中心现任访问研究员。叶博士参与中国基督教宣传海报这项目,2017年在华盛顿亚洲研讨年会上发表有关论文。叶博士也是瓦特尔堡信义宗神学院兼任讲师,教授基督论课程。叶博士为《普世信义宗主义》(2018)的参与作者。


Anne Zaki出生于埃及开罗。她是开罗福音派长老会神学院的助理教授。在2003年至2013年担任加尔文基督礼拜研究所的研究和开发专家期间,她开发了全球礼拜资源并在全球各地组织了全球礼拜会议。她在阿拉伯之春的九个月后的2011年返回了埃及。Anne如今教授讲道、敬拜、灵修、心理学及传播学课程。


吴喜诗 (Francisca Ireland-Verwoerd) 博士是波士顿大学全球基督教与宣教研究中心(The Center for Global Christianity and Mission)访问研究员。 她同时任东圣宣会学院(Eastern Nazarene College)助理教授,主讲艺术与音乐。她集中研究艺术和神学二者之间的关系, 并致力于探索艺术在教育中的价值,将之创造性地应用到教学上。


郑秀珍 (Soojin Chung) 博士是加尼福尼亚浸会大学的助理教授和跨文化研究项目主任。她的研究方向包括东亚宣教史,女性在宣教中的角色,和跨国收养史。在接受神学培训前,她曾在印度,泰国,斐济及新西兰的青年使命团工作。


王彦现就读于波士顿大学神学院。此前他在中国山东大学工作,任宗教学系讲师,教授犹太教和圣经希伯来语。2014年赴美在波士顿大学犹太教研究中心作访问学者,后转入神学院攻读道学硕士(M.Div, 预计在2019年夏天毕业。


薛永光,来自中国,大学时成为基督徒,后在波士顿大学修读世界基督教,目前在普度大学攻读宗教社会学。


任珂歆 生于中国江苏省南京市,于2008年移居到美国。任珂歆被波士顿大学音乐学院和文理学院全额奖学金录取,并以双专业summa cum laude的优异成绩毕业 。任珂歆在与 艾的恩博士合作中国基督教海报研究时获得了BU 研究人文奖。任珂歆现于约翰霍普金斯大学就读数据科学硕士学位,同时也在TD 银行软件开发部门工作。


大家好!我叫解羽迪,目前是波士顿大学大二的一名学生,主修哲学、辅修艺术历史。我来自潇湘楚地、岳麓书院的所在地—湖南长沙。由于作为湖南大学退休教职工的外公外婆住岳麓山脚下,我从小看书、耳濡目染,因此由衷地希望自己长大后在学术领域做出贡献。在大一的暑假,我很荣幸地凭着UROP给的研究项目奖学金与本校神学院全球基督教与布道中心的艾德恩教授合作并有机会亲眼见识到来自民国时期的一些基督教主题的古董宣传画报,也从中学习到很多。本人今日对世界文学艺术作品以及其翻译工作跃跃欲试的心态很大程度上源自我自小对哲学和意识等抽象科目浓厚的兴趣。十六岁,我离开中国来到马萨诸塞州一所高中求学,从此坚定了自己双语阅读与写作的志向。翻译家的工作不只是要将信息的花朵从一处文化土壤嫁接到另一处,更重要的,是保证这朵花的新鲜和生命力的延续不被这种移植所打断;换言之,翻译者需要怀着一颗虔诚的心,为一个诚恳的、开诚布公的跨文化对话播种并培养一个新的理解视角。


李启伟是波士顿大学的历史系学生。他对中国历史及文字十分感兴趣,并希望能为中国历史的研究贡献他的绵薄之力。


李熠南, 李最近从波士顿大学获得哲学和艺术史学位,现在他正在伦敦政治经济学院学习会计与金融,他对当代艺术,认识论,形而上学很有兴趣。

 


黄由由(雅恬)在波士顿大学学习国际关系(欧洲领域)和经济。她是一个敏感而有趣的女生,喜欢多元化和接触新鲜事物。空闲的时候,她喜欢在公益组织里为他人服务,和好友们拔草不同的美食,也享受一个人静静阅读小说的时光。“杀死一只知更鸟”,“廊桥遗梦”和“生死朗读”是她非常喜欢的三本书,给她带来了一个全新的世界。她也期待着去不同的地方旅游。


赖弘宇出生于广东佛山,现就读于波士顿大学本科,主修社会人类学辅修东亚文化研究。弘宇对于探讨当代亚洲的社会问题和纷争以及全球化对文化的影响有极大的兴趣,并热衷于了解性别问题。她目前正着手于建立一个关于社交媒体的研究项目。


Robert Dean Carlson (1928-2019) 是两名基督教宣道会员工C. Edwin和Carol Hammond Carlson的儿子。他于1928年7月2日出生于伊利诺伊州惠顿市。当时他的父母正从甘肃的传教活动中休息,于是很快,尚在襁褓之中的他便随家人回到了远东。他在他父母传教的地方,西藏,度过了童年的一段时光。他在1942年就读于加拿大联合教会在四川成都所经营的一所高中,但不久后该校就被迫关门。于是Robert来到了印度穆索里的Woodstock学校就读,于1948年毕业并前往惠顿学院就读。在惠顿上学时,他遇到了他未来的妻子,Margaret J. Larson。Robert在1951年毕业,并在毕业后的第二年迎娶了他的妻子。他们有四个孩子:Roberta(生于1954年),Eric(生于1957年),Ted(生于1959年),Carol(生于1965年)。在前往惠顿学院攻读硕士学位前,Robert曾在军中服役,并曾担任在台翻译官。他在1957年取得了圣经文学的硕士学位,并于1956年至1960年之间留校教授希腊语。在1960年,他们全家迁往香港。Robert在基督教宣道会宣基中学教授希腊语及圣经课程,而Margaret则从事护士工作,直到他们于1968年离开香港。


汤潇是哈佛大学神学院的神学硕士学生。来自中国北京,她在2018年本科毕业于圣母大学神学和政治学双专业。现在研究中国神学、宗教仪式、以及东亚诗歌艺术背后的神学蕴意。


张思晗目前就读于波士顿大学,主修哲学专业并辅修西方艺术史。生于中国成都,她十岁开始接触传统书法,了解东方传统艺术文化,并乐于为这一领域的研究尽一己之力。除此之外,思晗对平面设计也颇有兴趣,这方面的实习经历也使她建立了自己独有的审美。

About

In 1926, the Chinese Nationalists bulldozed their way to power, rumbling north to Beijing behind a phalanx of pamphleteers. In Hankou, the Religious Tract Society watched jealously as the Party, “using our means and improving upon them,” created a regime change. Propaganda, the General Secretary of the Religious Tract Society concluded, had established the new masters of the Middle Kingdom. Could it not also help to establish the Kingdom of God?

Between 1927 and 1949 millions of Christian posters hit the Chinese market. They were bright, symbolically rich, and conveyed multiple messages. At the same time, they were easy to comprehend. Christian propaganda posters intentionally aimed to topple China’s other ideological systems. Some images were explicitly produced to replace ancestral tablets or images of the kitchen god. Others competed directly with Nationalist and Communist propaganda, offering an alternative vision of what national salvation looked like for China.

In 1949, however, the Communists swept to power and, in victory, swept away their rivals. Communist posters have received extensive scholarly attention, but they are only the winner’s tale. Boston University’s Center for Global Christianity and Mission is recovering the forgotten and overlooked Christian materials that stood alongside, challenged, co-opted, and even subverted traditional religious, Nationalist, and Communist messages. Working with materials donated from Andover Newton Theological Seminary, Andrews University, Columbia University, Harvard University’s libraries, Hong Kong Baptist University, the Salvation Army’s International Heritage Centre, San Francisco Theological Seminary, Smith College, the University of London, the University of Minnesota, Wheaton College, the World Gospel Mission, and Yale University the CGCM has built a digital archive that showcases 470 posters. The site allows users to search, examine, and even interpret the posters. Each user is invited to curate an exhibit.

Chinese Christian propaganda posters are a fascinating window into the complex political, social, economic, and religious landscape of China in the second quarter of the twentieth century. Enjoy the view.

Team

The following people have been involved in this project:

Dana L. Robert is Truman Collins Professor of World Christianity and History of Mission, and Director of the Center for Global Christianity and Mission. Her research and teaching interests span mission history, World Christianity, and mission theology. An Editor of the journal Church History, she was a Henry Luce III Fellow in Theology in 2016-2017, and Senior Research Fellow at the Leibniz Institute of European History in Mainz, Germany. She is a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  In 2017, she received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Missiology.


Daryl R. Ireland is the Associate Director of the Center for Global Christianity and Mission, and the project manager of Chinese Christian Propaganda Posters. He focuses on the history of Christianity and mission in Asia. His study of 宋尚節 (John Sung), a Chinese revivalist whose itinerant ministry renewed the spiritual life of tens of thousands in the 1930s, has prompted him to write more broadly about revitalization movements, the role of women in revivalism, and religious conversion in China and Southeast Asia.


Alex Mayfield is the architect of the Chinese Christian Posters website. He is a PhD student at the Boston University School of Theology studying world Christianity and mission history. His research interests include global Pentecostal and Charismatic movements, ecumenism, mission history in Asia, and the development of Chinese Christianity in the modern period. Beyond these interests, Alex has worked on several digital initiatives that aim to bridge the gap between the theological academe and the wider public.


Man-Hei Yip  is currently Visiting Researcher at the Boston University School of Theology’s Center for Global Christianity and Mission. Man-Hei is also an Adjunct at Wartburg Theological Seminary teaching an online certificate program. Prior to beginning her doctoral studies, Man-Hei worked with the Lutheran World Federation (LWF) located in Geneva, Switzerland and Phnom Penh, Cambodia. She has been invited on several occasions by the LWF and World Council of Churches (WCC) to speak about issues concerning justice, peace, and sustainable development. Man-Hei enjoys writing; she has written articles and book reviews for Currents in Theology and Mission, and she is a contributor to Global Lutheranism: Vitality and Challenges (2018).


Assistant Professor at the Evangelical Presbyterian Seminary in Cairo, Anne Zaki was born in Cairo, Egypt. She has worked as a research and development specialist for global worship for the Calvin Institute of Christian Worship from 2003 – 2013, developing global worship resources and organizing global worship conferences worldwide. In 2011 she returned to Egypt, nine months after the Arab Spring. Anne currently teaches  courses on Preaching, Worship, Spiritual Formation, Psychology, and Communication.


Francisca Ireland-Verwoerd is a Visiting Researcher at the Center for Global Christianity and Mission, and an adjunct professor of Art and Music at Eastern Nazarene College. She works at the intersection of art and theology. Her work in creative pedagogy has focused on the power of art in education.


Soojin Chung is Assistant Professor and Director of Intercultural Studies at California Baptist University. Her research interest includes East Asian mission history, the role of women in missions, and history of transnational adoption. Previous to the theological training she worked for the Youth With A Mission in India, Thailand, Fiji, and New Zealand.  


Yan Wang has been a professor of Judaic Studies at Shandong University, China. In 2014, he came to the United States as a Visiting Researcher at the Elie Wiesel Center for Jewish Studies at Boston University. He has since enrolled at the BU School of Theology, and is currently a third-year student in the MDiv program.


Max Xue is currently a PhD student in sociology at Purdue University, where he is focusing on contemporary Chinese Christianity. He has written about Chinese Christian networks and the emergence of Presbyterianism in the mainland.


Maria Kexin Ren was born in Nanjing, China and came to the United States in 2008. Maria attended Boston University as a full scholarship recipient, and she recently graduated from BU summa cum laude for both her degrees in mathematics and harp performance. She is currently pursuing her master’s degree in data science at Johns Hopkins University. She is also working as an android developer with TD Bank.


Wendy Yudi Xie is a second-year undergraduate student majoring in Philosophy and minoring in Art History.  She has a keen interest in both literary analysis and artistic expression, as well as the history of ideology, philosophy, and religion. Having grown up in China and finished high school in the United States, Yudi enjoys reading and writing in both English and Chinese. She thinks the ultimate job of a translator is not only to preserve the original meaning but also to open up channels for new interpretations.


David Li is a junior student at Boston University majoring in History. He was born in New Zealand and grew up in Guangdong, China. His interests, asides from his major, are Chinese etymology and dialects (three of which he knows), which induced him to this digital humanities project to make use of his knowledge in Chinese history and language.


Yinan Li recently graduated from Boston University with a major in Philosophy and a minor in Art history. He is now pursing a postgraduate degree in Accounting and Finance at London School of Economics. He is interested in modern art, Epistemology and Metaphysics.

 


Yoyo  (Yatian) Huang, a sophomore at Boston University, fulfills her passion for knowledge by majoring in International Relations (focusing in European Track) and Economics. During her spare time, she enjoys volunteering in Boston Cares to serve other people, trying new restaurants with her lovely friends, reading literature and novels as well as traveling to different places. To Killing a Mockingbird, The Reader and The Bridges of Madison County are three books she really cherishes, which bring her a whole new world.


Hongyu Lai is an undergraduate student in Boston University. She was born in Foshan, China. Majoring in Cultural Anthropology and minoring in East Asian Study, Hongyu takes great interests in understanding present-day’s social problems, conflicts and impacts of globalization on cultures. She is also keen on exploring gender issues. She is currently developing a research project which focuses on social media.


Robert Dean Carlson is the son of Christian and Missionary Alliance workers C. Edwin and Carol Hammond Carlson. He was born July 2, 1928, while his parents were home on furlough in Wheaton, Illinois, from their mission station in Gansu Province, China. When he was only a few months old, his family returned to the Far East. Several years of Robert’s childhood were spent in the Tebe Valley in Tibet, where his parents were attempting to win converts to Christianity. In 1942, he was briefly at the high school run by the United Church of Canada in Chengdu, Sichuan Province, but this school was soon forced to close, whereupon Robert went to India to study at the Woodstock School in Mussoosie. Robert graduated from high school in 1948 and enrolled in Wheaton College, from which he graduated in 1951. While at Wheaton, he met his future wife, Margaret J. Larson. They were married in 1952 and they had four children: Roberta (1954), Eric (1957), Ted (1959), and Carol (1965). After service in the army, part of which he spent as an interpreter stationed in Taiwan, Robert attended Wheaton Graduate School, from which he graduated in 1957 with an M.A. in biblical literature. From 1956 to 1960, he taught Greek at Wheaton College. In 1960, he, Margaret, and the children traveled to Hong Kong, where Robert taught Greek and Bible courses at the Christian and Missionary Alliance School and Margaret served as school nurse. They remained in Hong Kong until 1968.